The Best and Worst Halloween Vendors for your Cosplay

When I was younger I always wanted to be the Joker. But I couldn’t exactly create him. I could do a decent job on the make up and costume but I couldn’t get much detail. Maybe I’m a bad make up artist? But I started to really poke around the internet. I looked into different companies that made masks both Latex and Silicone. The problem with Latex is a lot of people are highly allergic to it. Just stretching it out can send tiny spores into the air and if someone is allergic enough will have some serious problems!

With that said, I could honestly say I was safe with an all silicone mask. But where could I find it? I’m sure you’resaying…just search Google. Well that’s easier said than done. I could easily type in “Top Silicone Mask Makers” into Google and I’ll get a tsunami of results. ButI needed a few questions answered before I invested my money into something like this. Which companies are the best? Which ones will customize your very own mask? How much of a price difference will there be when I want it custome made? Questions like this is what makes it hard. But lucky for you I have listed below some of the top Silicone mask companies in the country.

1.)Composite Effects(CFX) http://www.compositeeffects.com— These guys are the best in my opinion. Simply because of how realistic their masks are. They fit your face very nicely, even with a big noggin like my head. These masks are comfortable and easy to put on. They have a fully customizable mask lab called, “Mask Lab”. This is where you can add and remove and completely edit your mask and see what it will look like! This was a huge deciding factor for me especially for the joker.

Pros-Very realistic,great customer service,mask lab,very durable,very large selection of over 50 masks, has multiple choices for all budgets

Cons-Can be a bit pricey on the full masks(but well worth it if you have the money), the wait for your mask can be long

Customer Reviews:

Good:

#1 Consumer Comment

cfx masks quality is untouchable!

AUTHOR: tara – (United States of America)

SUBMITTED: Monday, February 02, 2012

I purchased six masks from Cfx in October 2010 for my haunted house production. Every single mask exceeded my expectations and was more than I had expected. They were works of art. Plain and simple. They arrived promptly, just as pictured online, and were carefully packed. My pervis the pig mask looked and felt so real I became nausiated when I saw it in action..believe me that’s a good thing! The staff also spent ridiculous amounts of time with me on the phone answering all of my many questions and catering to my every need. Cfx masks are amazing and there is nothing out there that is even close in comparrision. I even reused the masks this October..they are durablie and breathtakingly ghoulish!And one more note..I hate taking time to do these kinds of things..leave feed back all that kinda stuff. I googled .Cfx masks to check out their mask of the month and saw consumer rip-off report pop up..so I read the negative report..and have now spent about 30 minutes of my time creating an account and logging in..writing all that u have read…to defend the honor of Cfx masks!!!!!!!

#3

CFX Masks are AMAZING!!!

AUTHOR: 5Clowns – (USA)

SUBMITTED: Thursday, September 09, 2009

We ordering the Whipstitch masks from CFX last year and Wes and the gang there at CFX are amazing!  We did not have any trouble from them at all with ordering and when we got our masks the head that holds the mask had rubbed a hole in it and they imediately took it back with free shipping, fixed it and sent it back within a week so that we could have them in time to wear in our haunted house.I would recommend CFX masks to anyone looking to have a realistic looking costume for anything.  We have had several people come up to us while wearing ours to ask how how long it takes to have makeup like that put on and also if we actually shave our heads like that for the haunt. lol.

So, I am not sure if this guy just did not know what he was ordering, but we got exactly what we wanted from them.  They have great customer service as well!
Worth every penny!

#4 Consumer Comment

CFX Masks are better than expected

AUTHOR: Maverick – (U.S.A.)

SUBMITTED: Sunday, August 08, 2009

I ordered my first CFX mask and recently received it. I was completely satisfied; it was even better than what I had expected. Usually when ordering items online, I don’t get my hopes up as many times the picture was better than what actually came. The mask was packed well and looks great. It actually looks better than the photo on the website. I can’t believe how realistic it looks and I cannot wait to wear it for Halloween as we have to dress up at work!

Bad: I only found one complaint and it was very confusing. It seems as though it was a fraudulent complaint by competition. Please feel free to look at the complaint down below. I have sourced my findings.

Sourcehttp://www.ripoffreport.com/r/cfxmasks-cfx-masks-composite-effects-co-mpositeeffects/-internet-/cfxmasks-cfx-masks-composite-effects-co-mpositeeffects-cfxmasks-look-nothing-like-the-pic-447961

2.) Realflesh Masks–http://www.realfleshmask.com/–Now I checked these guys out and I was quite impressed. They offer some great masks with fantastic detail. Only issue is, is they have a very slim selection of masks. I would assume becuase these guys are just started out. But if you like what they have it’s a great mask.

Pros-Great quality, good customer service

Cons-Slim selection. pricey

Cutomer Reviews:

Good:None Found

Bad: None found

SPFX- http://www.spfxmasks.com— STAY AWAY. Here’s why. They have been featured in movies like Drive and on the tv show Extreme Home Makeover. They have quality masks. Great right? It would be if these guys cared about customers and not money. Customer service is terrible and the owner can be quite offensive. Masks might be great but I wouldn’t give them a dime.

Pros-Great masks

Cons-Bad customer serivce, late orders, people waiting months for mask

Customer reviews:

Good: Sadly I have not found any good remarks on this company. I couldn’t find any good testimonials. The masks are great but the company is bad. If you find anything please let me know.

Bad:

  4th of Nov, 2010 by   SPFX RIP OFF   0 Votes
Hi,SPFX RUSTY IS A BAD PERSON.

I paid for the Player Mask along with Eye Brows, sent the mask with no eye brows and I paid for this extra.
SPFX wont answer any emails and also wont answer the calles too. I have complained to the Credit Card Company now and they will be talking up this case.

Rusty will promise you the earth and has staff who works at this place too Matt and John. Such a bad service from these guys, take the money and dont get the service, full of bull shit.

This listing on here is just exposing them to be a bad Company and its just not far what they do to people.

  11th of Jan, 2011 by   John mathers   0 Votes
SPFXI have contacted my Credit card Company and they are now having to do a Charge back to have the money put back on my Card, Do buy from SPFX they promise you the World and dont even answer calls or e mails once they got your money

Rusty in time all these complaints will be seen and you know doubt will change your Company name again like you have done in the past, Bad Man not honest and hope you will be expossed for the real person you are.

  24th of Apr, 2011 by   Jacy12   0 Votes
If you have a look on the Fxmasks.com forum, there are loads of people who have been waiting for their masks since Nov 2010 and still waiting. These guys are shelling out $1000 a time just to be promised that their mask will be shipped out as they have hired a top team of artists who are working flat out to get rid of all the back orders. I dont think so!!!

Rusty seems a nice guy but something is not right here and im sure in a couple of months we are going to find out why.

I was going to buy from SPFX but decided to go with CFX as all the comments are positive.

Rusty Slusser is going out of business if this continues.

Peace

Source: http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/spfx-masks-c387647.html

2 responses to “The Best and Worst Halloween Vendors for your Cosplay

  1. In fact social networks have revolutionized our lives by incorporating all the basic elements of a person’s social life in one place.

    The following are four prime reasons why you should be using Pinterest, including examples
    of practical applications:. how can businesses effectively use
    this new social media platform.

  2. Cfx is the best over all mask maker. Looks, fit, design, paint. Yes they are alittle higher in price. But your paying for the best! Now for the best Freddy is a darkride freddy, but Wfx coming in 2nd. But Darkride is a thief, no customer service, won’t return emails or phone calls. I ordered two and only received one never got the other. And the one I got was wrong paint. Plus waited for 7months to get it. When it says 6 to 8weeks. Had to open a dispute and get money back. They are great mask but horrible business. I’m sure I’m not the only one out there.

Leave a comment